SAOA Members,
This message comes from Rick Karhliker.
Overall it was a good week. I don’t know if it was the mechanics review or the fact we were in week #7 and we have blown the dust off, but from my observations improvements were made. Keep up the good work. Once again, sell yourself, sell your crew. As you know, we sometimes settle into bad habits we don’t even know we are doing. This is why it is good to review your game(s), by watching what we are doing individually, as well as the crew.
Something to work on this week is the length of time you are spending when discussing penalty situations. When you take too much time it gives the appearance you do not know what you are doing. When you throw a flag, have the referee come to you (you may need to hold your position – end of the run), state your foul, where it is to be administered from, when the clock will start outside of the two minute period. When you have a multiple foul or double foul situation the referee must quickly (and accurately) explain the options to the wings and coaches. Keep your game moving. This also gives everyone the impression you know what you are doing (selling yourselves). This is why everyone on the crew MUST know the rules and penalty enforcement procedures (not just the referee).
This week I am going to bring to you several plays that were brought to my attention … kind of a review week.Here we go:
Play #1 – Fair Catch Signal During a Scrimmage Kick:
R1 and R2 both signal for a fair catch and: (a) the punt is short and caught by R3; or (b) the punt is over the head of R1, and R2 blocks K1 who is attempting to down the ball near the goal line; or (c) R2 muffs the punt which is the muffed by K2 and finally recovered by R1. When can a player who gives a fair catch signal block?
Ruling: R3 did not make a fair catch in (a), but the ball became dead when it was caught. In (b) R2 blocked before the kick ended after giving a signal and the penalty, if accepted, will be administered from the post-scrimmage kick spot. In (c) the ball became dead as soon as R1 recovered.
Comment: This play is a good reminder for the back judge and line judge when covering punt situations. As you can see there are a number of rule references regarding this play. Many times we have to read all of the rule references to come to the correct enforcement and penalty application. (2-24-2, 4-2-2g, 6-5-1, 6-5-5, 9-3-3, 6.5.1 Situation A)
Play #2:
During an underclassman game, a crew had a play in which quarterback A1 drops back to pass. A1 is under a heavy rush and gets hit. The referee ruled the quarterback’s arm was moving forward when the ball was released. The crew rules this as a forward pass. During the crew discussion, none of the crew members could tell if any of the rushing defenders had tipped the ball or not. The crew members agreed the quarterback’s arm had been hit, but could not determine if the ball had been touched by B. The airborne ball is caught by A55 about 2 yards behind the line-of-scrimmage. The crew throws a flag for illegal touching, but ends up waving it off after further discussion. Does the fact the quarterback’s arm was hit while going forward which alters the projection of the ball nullify the illegal touching or have any affect on this call?
Was the correct call made based on the facts above?
Ruling:
From the description of the above play A55 has committed an “Illegal Touching” foul. The rule states (7-5-13), “An ineligible A player has illegally touched a forward pass if he bats, muffs, or catches a legal forward pass, unless the pass has first been touched by B.” This is a 5 yard penalty and loss of down (spot foul, behind the basic spot, 10-6). In the casebook play 7.5.13 Situation A will provide additional guidance.
Comment: Good crew discussion. If no one on the crew saw the ball tipped you cannot create a situation to make A55’s catch legal. In other words, you cannot call what you did not see. I would not encourage any official to “guess,” I thought the ball was touched. You saw it or you didn’t. It is better in the case to miss a call rather than make one up!
Play #3:
Team A’s ball second and 9 from A’s 22-yard line. A1 advances the ball to the A’s 35-yardline. During the run, A55 blocks B46 in the back at the A’s 25-yardline. How is this penalty enforced?
Ruling: It is enforced from the spot of the foul since it is a foul by the offense behind the basic spot, which is the end of the run (all-but-one principle).
Closing:
The regular season is almost over after this week’s game. Keep working on your game appearance and management. As the late Don Robinson (IHSA) once said, “You do not become a great crew overnight, and you do not become a bad crew overnight.” Improvement and failures take time. If you want to become a better official/crew it comes in small increments. If you want to get better you can.
As always, have fun this week. Keep your questions and plays coming. Help me make this newsletter meaningful.
Last meeting “Playoff meeting” will be 10/26 at the Moose in Swansea starting at 7. Please mark if you plan on attending in Arbiter.
First round contracts are out, let me know if you/your crew received one. Also if you received your first ever 1st round contract please let me know. If you are a member and “In Good standing” you could be eligible for a playoff award. Continue to keep me in the loop as we progress through the playoffs on how far you/you crew get.
Thanks,
Blake Ohren